New Books @ McAuley

aurora and the popcurn dolphinAurora and the Popcorn Dolphin (The Songbird Cafe Girls 3) by Sarah Webb

Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy and Jacqueline Wilson. The third book in The Songbird Cafe Girls series about friendship, family and a very special cafe. After the death of her mum, Aurora struggles to care about anything until she meets Click the dolphin. (Goodreads)

 

awesome arithmetricksAwesome Arithmetricks (Murderous Maths #3) by Kjartan Poskitt, Daniel Postgate (Illustrator)

Find out how to count your way out of a death-trap, why multiplication can stop a hairy green spot epidemic, and meet the barmy pure mathematicians who spent years proving 5 + 0 = 5. Meanwhile, Chainsaw Charlie, Halfsmile and their gang discover that even the simplest maths can be murderous. (Goodreads)

desparate measuresDesperate Measures (Murderous Maths #5) by Kjartan Poskitt

Is maths making you miserable? Do you ever feel you’re one gram short of a kilo? Find out why a horse needs hands and how measurements can defeat an alien invasion from the Planet Zog. Meanwhile, Dolly Snowlips despairs as the gangsters get their maths wrong yet again. (Goodreads)

do you feel luckyDo You Feel Lucky?: The Secrets of Probability (Murderous Maths #6) by Kjartan Poskitt

Does “probability” make you panic? Do you ever feel you don’t fancy your chances? This title will show you why coins have no memory, and whether Urgum the Axeman is likely to lose his head and join Riverboat Lil and Brett Shuffler in a mathematical tangle with swamp snakes. (Goodreads)

easy questions evil answersEasy Questions, Evil Answers (Murderous Maths) by Kjartan Poskitt, Philip Reeve

Why do people think Friday 13th is unlucky? How can you make a liar tell the truth? How many people in the world share your birthday? “Easy Questions, Evil Answers” provides the answers to all these questions and more. It’s the perfect laugh-out-loud, boredom busting read for everyone who’s ever wondered just how many footballs you can fit in a swimming pool and how long it takes to count to a million. (Goodreads)

guaranteed to bend your brainGuaranteed to Bend Your Brain (Murderous Maths)  by  Kjartn Poskitt, Trevor Dunton (Illustrator), Philip Reeve  (Illustrator)

In this guide, you’ll meet One Finger Jimmy, Chainsaw Charlie and their gangster friends who are living proof that maths can be murderous. Poskitt also explains how maths could help you rescue someone, and introduces some famous mathematicians. (Goodreads)

guaranteed to mash your mindMurderous Maths Guaranteed to Mash Your Mind: More Muderous  by Kjartan Poskitt, Philip Reeve (Illustrator)

Maths with the laughs added in! * How can maths save your life? * Can you make a piece of one-sided paper? * How can you be famous forever? Find out in More Murderous Maths – all the tricks, tips and shortcuts they don’t teach at school. (Goodreads)

the key to the universeThe Key to the Universe. Kjartan Poskitt by Kjartan Poskitt, Philip Reeve  (Illustrator)

Using a host of hilarious characters, Kjartan Poskitt presents all the tricks, tips and shortcuts to maths they don’t teach at school. (Goodreads)

 

 

the perfect sausageThe Perfect Sausage and Other Fundamental Formulas (Murderous Maths #11) by Kjartan Poskitt

Suitable for readers floundering with their formulas, this title reveals how to make the perfect fried egg, get your fair share of the gangster’s leftover pizza and what makes money really interesting. Using a host of characters, it presents various tricks, tips and shortcuts to maths. (Goodreads)

the phantom XThe Phantom X (Murderous Maths #9) by Kjartan Poskitt

Is maths making you miserable? Are you alarmed by algebra and flummoxed by formulas? Do equations make you quake? Look no further: The phantom is here to banish algebraic agony for good in this book. (Goodreads)

 

savage shapesSavage Shapes (Murderous Maths) by Kjartan Poskitt, Philip Reeve  (Illustrator)

Using a host of hilarious characters, Kjartan Poskitt presents all the tricks, tips and shortcuts to shapes they don’t teach at school. Readers will learn why the US defence headquarters is a pentagon, as well as discovering the quickest way to get a naked colonel back to his beach hut. (Goodreads)

 

a girls guide to friendsGirl Wise – A Girl’s Guide to Friends By: Sharon Witt

Sometimes when we are younger, we go through some wonderful times, but also some tough times too. Whether that be problems with friends, worrying about how you look or just feeling a bit down in the dumps- this book is written especially for you- to help you in your journey! (Booktopia)

 

a girls guide to lifeGirl Wise – A Girl’s Guide to Life By: Sharon Witt

Sometimes when we are younger, we go through some wonderful times, but also some tough times too. Whether that be problems with friends, school, family or coping with change, this book is written especially for you- to help you in your journey in growing up to be all that you were created you to be. ((Booktopia)

a girlds guide to being youGirl Wise – A Guide to Being You  By: Sharon Witt

Often when girls are younger, they need an extra dose of encouragement. Girlwise- A Guide to being YOU! Explores the importance of girls being created as unique individuals of great value and worth. (Booktopia)

 

a guide to taking care of your bodyGirl Wise – A Guide to Taking Care of Your Body  By: Sharon Witt

Our bodies are an amazing gift and have been created to do incredible things. Part of growing up, means learning to appreciate and care for our bodies in order to keep them healthy and growing. ((Booktopia)

 

 

harry potter and the cursed childHarry Potter and the Cursed Child (Harry Potter #8)  by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016. (Goodreads)

have you filled your bucket todayHave You Filled a Bucket Today?: A Guide to Daily Happiness for Kids by Carol McCloud

Through simple prose and vivid illustrations, this heartwarming book encourages positive behaviour as children see how rewarding it is to express daily kindness, appreciation, and love. Bucket filling and dipping are effective metaphors for understanding the effects of our actions and words on the well being of others and ourselves. (Goodreads)

the impossible clueAlice Jones: The Impossible Clue by Sarah Rubin

Maths-whizz Alice has already solved a mystery or two. Persuaded by wannabe sidekick Sammy to investigate a scientist’s disappearance, she’s soon entangled in her trickiest case yet. Dr Learner is reputed to have invented an invisibility suit, but is whacky science really to blame for his vanishing? (Goodreads)

 

the lost sapphireThe Lost Sapphire by Belinda Murrell

Marli is staying with her dad in Melbourne, and missing her friends. Then she discovers a mystery—a crumbling, abandoned mansion is to be returned to her family after 90 years. Marli sneaks into the locked garden to explore, and meets Luca, a boy who has his own connection to Riversleigh. (Goodreads)

 

magritMagrit by Lee Battersby , Amy Daoud (illustrator)

Magrit lives in an abandoned cemetery with her friend and advisor, Master Puppet, whom she built from bones and bits of graveyard junk. One night as Magrit and Master Puppet sit atop of their crumbling chapel, a passing stork drops a baby into the graveyard. (Goodreads)

 

mollie cinnamon is not a cupcakeMollie Cinnamon Is Not a Cupcake (The Songbird Cafe Girls 1) by Sarah Webb

Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy and Jacqueline Wilson. First book in The Songbird Cafe Girls series about friendship, family and a very special cafe. Mollie Cinnamon is so bored and lonely on Little Bird Island until she makes friends with Sunny and Alanna at the Songbird Cafe. (Goodreads)

molly and pim and the millions of starsMolly and Pim and the Millions of Stars by Martine Murray

Molly’s mother is not like other mothers: she rides a yellow bike and collects herbs and makes potions, perhaps even magical potions. Molly wants to be normal, like her friend Ellen, and watch television and eat food that comes in packets. (Goodreads)

 

marly walks on the moonMarly walks on the Moon: Our Australian Girl by Alice Pung

It’s 1983… and baby mania has struck Marly’s house with the arrival of her baby brother. But Marly never realised that a new baby would take up so much of everyone’s time! No one’s helping her with her costume for the school concert. Marly’s secret plan is to perform the Moonwalk, the dance she’s been practising all year. But will she be ready? (Goodreads)

shadow warriorsShadow Warriors (Ninja #4) by Chris Bradford

A breathtaking tale of martial arts action from prize-winning author and black belt Chris Bradford, crammed with fantastic extras for young ninja fans. Vividly detailed and tense, this packs a serious punch. (Goodreads)

 

under suspicionUnder Suspicion (Friday Barnes #2) by R.A. Spratt

Who knew boarding school could be this perilous! 

When Friday Barnes cracked the case of Highcrest Academy’s mysterious swamp-yeti, the last thing she expected was to be placed under arrest. Now with the law on her back and Ian Wainscott in her face, Friday is not so sure boarding school was the smartest choice. (Goodreads)

the war that saved my lifeThe War that Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

A Wall Street Journal’s Best Children’s Book of 2015

An exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set during World War 2, from the acclaimed author of Jefferson’s Sons and for fans of Number the Stars.

 

witherwood reform schoolWitherwood Reform School (Witherwood Reform School #1) by Obert Skye, Keith Thompson (Illustrations)

After a slight misunderstanding involving a horrible governess, oatmeal, and a jar of tadpoles, siblings Tobias and Charlotte Eggars find themselves abandoned by their father at the gates of a creepy reform school. Evil mysteries are afoot at Witherwood, where the grounds are patrolled by vicious creatures after dark and kids are locked in their rooms. (Goodreads)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s