Most popular E books October 2016

The merchant of Venice edited by William Baker and Brian Vickers.  (2005) The Merchant of Venice has always been regarded as one of Shakespeare’s most interesting plays. Before the nineteenth century critical reaction is relatively fragmentary. However between then and the late twentieth century the critical tradition reveals the tremendous vitality of the play to…

New Fiction Potter Library

Are you Alice? 1  by Ai Ninomiya, Ikumi Katagiri (Illustrator) A disillusioned young man in search of “something” stumbles into the weird and wacky world of Wonderland, where, as “Alice,” he is thrust into a murderous game of “Kill the White Rabbit” by command of the ruler of the land, the Queen of Hearts. (Goodreads)…

New Books @ McAuley

Aurora and the Popcorn Dolphin (The Songbird Cafe Girls 3) by Sarah Webb Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy and Jacqueline Wilson. The third book in The Songbird Cafe Girls series about friendship, family and a very special cafe. After the death of her mum, Aurora struggles to care about anything until she meets Click the dolphin. (Goodreads)…

MCAULEY NEW FICTION 2016

A Handful of Stars, by Cynthia Lord When Lily’s blind dog, Lucky, slips his collar and runs away across the wide-open blueberry barrens of eastern Maine, it’s Salma Santiago who manages to catch him. Salma, the daughter of migrant workers, is in the small town with her family for the blueberry-picking season. After their initial…

POTTER AND MCAULEY NEW FICTION HOLIDAY READING 2015

The 26-storey treehouse – Andy Griffiths, Terry Denton If you’re like most readers, you’re probably wondering just how Andy and Terry met. Well, it’s a long story, but a pretty exciting one, and it’s mostly true! Come on up, choose a hammock, and they’ll tell you all about it (just don’t go in the maze…

MCAULEY NEW FICTION 2015

The Adventures of Stunt Boy and His Amazing Wonder Dog Blindfold – by Lollie Barr HE’S A BOY WHO DOES STUNTS. Someone was out to get my dad. Everyone said it was an accident but I didn’t believe them, not even for a second… and Stunt Boy is going to prove it. With his amazing…

YEAR 7 – Top 20 Reads

Parvana’s journey – Deborah Ellis In Parvana’s Journey, the Taliban still control Afghanistan, but Kabul is in ruins. Parvana’s father has just died, and her mother, sister, and brother could be anywhere in the country. Parvana knows she must find them. Despite her youth, Parvana sets out alone, masquerading as a boy. Parvana – Deborah…

YEAR 6 – Top 20 reads

Life on the refrigerator door – Alice Kuipers Claire and her mother are running out of time, but they don’t know it. Not yet. Claire is wrapped up with the difficulties of her bourgeoning adulthood—boys, school, friends, identity; Claire’s mother, a single mom, is rushed off her feet both at work and at home. Chinese…

YEAR 5 – Top 20 Reads

  Dear Mr Sprouts – Errol Broom When Anke launches her green balloon with an envelope of seeds attached—and Freddie sends her a letter telling her he found it—the city girl and country boy form an unlikely friendship that changes their lives and transforms the bare hills of Freddie’s farm forever. The brilliant world of Tom Gates…