McAuley Author Visit

14th September, 2018 Students from Junior school were lucky enough to attend workshops with Nicholas Lochel, co author of Zakora, today in the McAuley Library. Nicholas Lochel grew up in Brisbane, Australia, along with his two brothers and sister, Alison, with whom he is co-writing the ZARKORA series. It was the close bond he shared…

Winter Holiday Reading McAuley Library

Snuggle up with a good book these holidays, browse through the new books we have available now in the McAuley Library.   The Book Of Answers (Book 2)  by A.L. Tait  An orphan in exile. A band of rebel girls. And a prince whose throne has been stolen. Come on a journey full of danger,…

Holiday Reading December 2017

17th November, 2017 The 91-story tree house   Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton Join Andy and Terry in their ridiculous 91-storey treehouse! Go for a spin in the world’s most powerful whirlpool, take a ride in a submarine sandwich, get marooned on a desert island, hang out in a giant spider web, visit the fortune…

Most popular E books October 2016

The merchant of Venice edited by William Baker and Brian Vickers.  (2005) The Merchant of Venice has always been regarded as one of Shakespeare’s most interesting plays. Before the nineteenth century critical reaction is relatively fragmentary. However between then and the late twentieth century the critical tradition reveals the tremendous vitality of the play to…

New Fiction Potter Library

Are you Alice? 1  by Ai Ninomiya, Ikumi Katagiri (Illustrator) A disillusioned young man in search of “something” stumbles into the weird and wacky world of Wonderland, where, as “Alice,” he is thrust into a murderous game of “Kill the White Rabbit” by command of the ruler of the land, the Queen of Hearts. (Goodreads)…

New Books @ McAuley

Aurora and the Popcorn Dolphin (The Songbird Cafe Girls 3) by Sarah Webb Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy and Jacqueline Wilson. The third book in The Songbird Cafe Girls series about friendship, family and a very special cafe. After the death of her mum, Aurora struggles to care about anything until she meets Click the dolphin. (Goodreads)…

MCAULEY NEW FICTION 2016

A Handful of Stars, by Cynthia Lord When Lily’s blind dog, Lucky, slips his collar and runs away across the wide-open blueberry barrens of eastern Maine, it’s Salma Santiago who manages to catch him. Salma, the daughter of migrant workers, is in the small town with her family for the blueberry-picking season. After their initial…